PTA » PTA Executive Board

PTA Executive Board

PTA President Welcome Letter 2019-2020

Welcome to a new year of school and a new year of PTA. As you start the year, remember that our main focus is children.  The children in your home, the children in our school and the children in our city.

 

If this is your first year at Hawthorne, I would like to extend a very warm welcome to each of you. If you are a "seasoned" Hawthorne family, I know that you are as excited as we are to be starting the school year up again.

 

Whether a new PTA member or a returning member, we thank you for your contributions, time, and commitment to our organization, our teachers, and most importantly, our students! As a member of the Hawthorne PTA, you are a voice for our students and part of the largest child advocacy program in the world! It is such a rewarding experience!! 

 

As I embark on my second year as your PTA President, I am looking forward to continuing the working partnership we have established with the Board of Education, administration, our amazing teachers and our invaluable staff to provide an excellent learning experience for our children.

 

I encourage each and every one of you to become a part of our team. The number one reason to join the PTA is to benefit the children. In doing so, you also help us. But there are many more advantages:

 

By becoming a PTA member, you’ll be demonstrating to your child the importance you place on education. 


By volunteering with your PTA, you gain valuable experiences and personal confidence. It’s an opportunity to put your skills and hobbies to good use, for a good cause. 

 

By getting involved, you’ll be part of the solution, helping to make positive change. 

 

PTA functions provide opportunities to meet other parents and teachers. 

 

The PTA is a forum for exchanging ideas. Attend the PTA meetings throughout the year to make suggestions and provide your input. 

 

Some things that we can use some help with this year are fundraising.  We spend a lot of money on the programs and events that enhance our children’s learning experience.  As we continue from year to year, we like to add more.  Yet in doing so, we need more funds to allow for these programs.  If you have any ideas or would like to help in any way, please contact me.   

  

Thank you and MAKE IT a great year!!

 

With Sincere Appreciation,

 

Rusti Banagas

PTA President

Hawthorne School

PTA Executive Board 2019-2020

Role Name Email Address
President Rusti Banagas cashesmom2009@gmail.com
Executive Vice President Robin Strug robinstrug@sbcglobal.net
Treasurer Carrie Hebroni chebroni@gmail.com
Financial Secretary Allison Sipes Allisonmsipes@gmail.com
Recording Secretary Meira Leeds delta3pa@aol.com
Friends of Hawthorne Bridget Smith bmcgsmith@gmail.com
Friends of Hawthorne Admin Bridget/Rusti  
VP, Communications Kristina Straub kristina@straubehry.com
VP, Parents Involvement & Volunteer Services Eugenia Rosenthal rosenthal@gmail.com
VP, Directory Samuel Straub sam@straubehry.com
VP, Membership Tanaz Roofian roofian@sbcglobal.net
VP, Legislative Advocacy Committee Stella Sarraf stellasarraf@aol.com
VP, Fund Raising Sali Lewally slewally@worldunispec.com
VP, Hospitality Jessica Gusow jessicagusow@yahoo.com
VP, Community Service Jamie Prijatel Jamieprijatel@gmail.com
VP, Community Outreach Jen Fentin fentin@gmail.com
VP, Fitness & Health  Tammy Golan tammygolan@yahoo.com
VP, Clothing Sales Suzanne Asherson sbasherson@gmail.com
Parliamentarian Doreece Artal doreece@gmail.com
Historian Shirin Lavi Shirinie@aol.com
Auditor Carrie Ucer carrieu@me.com
Ed Talks (Middle School Speaker Series) Justin Leigh justin@jslmg.com
VP, Teachers’ Wish List Program Kathy Shadgoo kshadgoo@aol.com
VP, Safety Jennifer Wolfe Eflow54321@gmail.com
Advisor Molly Corey corey@gmail.com
Teacher Liaison Njeri Snyder nsnyder@bhusd.org
VP Staff Support (shared position) Ellie Yadegar dpgluv@aol.com
lawyerlawyerliz@yahoo.com
Principal Sarah Kaber skaber@bhusd.org
Assistant Principal Kevin Painter kpainter@bhusd.org